Dame Elizabeth Hall and its 2018-2019 Activity Programme
- Written by Nigel Dawkins
The Dame Elizabeth Hall is owned by the Village Trust and managed by the Bournville Village Council and is the hidden treasure of Bournville.
The history of the Hall makes fascinating reading. Situated in the heart of Bournville, on Firbank Close (off Oak Tree Lane), it is operated on a not-for-profit basis and all charges collected are put towards the care and maintenance of the building and its facilities.
Dame Elizabeth Hall was opened in June 1930 as part of Fircroft College by Dr Temple, Archbishop of York.George Cadbury Jnr funded the building and the present hall was named in memory of Dame Elizabeth Cadbury in 1959.